2008 Welsh Regional Championship - Second Section: Runners & Riders


Should be a well matched contest this as the bands get to grips with Kenneth Downies fine set work.

BrangSaturday 8th March
Adjudicator: David Horsfield
Test Piece: Three Part Invention– Kenneth Downie


Commences: After Section Three

BritonBriton Ferry
Dr. Christian Jenkins

Last 12 Years:
2007: 3rd (C. Jenkins)
2006: 7th (C. Jenkins)
2005: 5th (C. Jenkins)
2004: 8th (M. Faro)
2003: 3rd (M. Faro)
2002: 2nd in Third Section (M. Faro) (prom)
2001: 2nd in Fourth Section (M. Faro) (prom)
2000: 7th (M. Faro)
1999: 7th
1998: N/K in Fourth Section
1997: N/K in Fourth Section
1996: N/K in Fourth Section

A band moving in the right direction it seems after a decent 2007. Dr Christian Jenkins is developing a solid foundation of good players here and that was certainly shown last year when they just missed out on the trip to Harrogate.

More of that form should prove beneficial and they may well fancy their chances finding out about B& B deals in North Yorkshire over the weekend.      

Lewis Merthyr
Gareth Pritchard

Last 12 Years:
2007: 10th (L. Price)
2006: 5th (L. Price)
2005: 4th (L. Price)
2004: 9th (B. Buckley)
2003: 7th (L. Harries)
2002: 4th (L. Harries)
2001: DNC
2000: DNC
1999: DNC
1998: 8th in Championship Section (rel)
1997: 7th
1996: 4th in First Section (prom)

Gareth Pritchard is likely to be busy man over the weekend as he takes Lewis Merthyr here in the Second Section as well as Tongwynlais in the Championship race.

The band did drop out of Butlins and didn’t show of their best here last time out either. That was a pity as they have been making real progress in the right direction in the last couple of years. Things should be back on track on the weekend hopefully though.     

B. Connolly 

Last 12 Years:
2007: DNC
2006: DNC
2005: 5th (T. Wyss)
2004: Winners Second Section (G. Saynor) (prom)
2003: Winners (G. Saynor)
2002: 3rd (P. Hughes)
2001: 3rd in Third Section (P. Hughes) (prom)
2000: 2nd (P. Hughes)
1999: 7th
1998: Winners of Fourth Section (prom)
1997: 11th in Third Section (rel)
1996: N/K

Always good to see a band make a comeback after a period away and it is now three years since Llanrug graced the stage here at the Brangwyn Hall. 

They have certainly had their moments of glory too under Thomas Wyss and if they have been able to rebuild in the intervening period then they should more than hold their own on their return. We hope so.  

Rhodri Griffiths

Last 12 Years:
2007: Winners of Third Section (A. Davies) (prom)
2006: Winners of Fourth Section (A. Davies) (prom)
2005: 2nd (A. Davies)
2004: 12th (A. Davies)
2003: DNC
2002: DNC
2001: DNC
2000: DNC
1999: 14th
1998: N/K
1997: N/K
1996: N/K

No Alan Davies at the helm this year, but the talented Rhodri Griffths instead.

The double winners will surely come with high hopes of at least making a mark at the contest and if they can up their form from the decent showing they produced at Harrogate late last year then they should do that. A third win? Now that would be something to celebrate now wouldn’t it.  

NewtownNewtown Silver
Steve Edwards

Last 12 Years:
2007: 9th (S. Edwards)
2006: 4th (S. Edwards)
2005: Winners of Third Section (S. Edwards) (prom)
2004: Winners of Third Section (S. Edwards)
2003: 8th in Second Section  (H. Gibb) (rel)
2002: DNC
2001: DNC
2000: 4th in Third Section (S. Edwards) (prom)
1999: 6th
1998: 2nd
1997: 10th in Second Section (rel)
1996: 9th 

Steve Edwards continues to do sterling work in mid Wales with Newtown and even though they didn’t hit the best of form here last year they have shown in the past that they are more than capable of making a significant impact on the contest. 

Busy and hard working they should be confident of doing well again this time out to banish any thoughts of possible relegation trouble.

Point of Ayr
Peter Christian

Last 12 Years:
2007: DNC
2006: DNC
2005: DNC
2004: DNC
2003: DNC
2002: DNC
2001: 2nd in Championship Section (T. Wyss)
2000: 3rd (M. Fowles)
1999: Winners (M. Fowles)
1998: 3rd (M. Fowles)
1997: Winners (M. Fowles)
1996: 6th (M. Fowles)

What a story this would be if from the point of no return we can report that Point of Ayr has returned to the contest scene with a fairy tale win. 

Don’t put it past them, although at the moment it is just great to welcome back a band that has twice won the Championship Section here in the last 10 years or more. Don’t know if they will be wearing their famous old uniforms, but we are sure there will be plenty of smiling faces as they take to the stage under Peter Christian.  

Mark Hutcherson 

Last 12 Years:
2007: 4th (C.B. Buckley)
2006: 7th in First Section (G. O'Connor) (rel)
2005: 9th (C. Thomas)
2004: 7th (C. Thomas)
2003: 4th (C. Thomas)
2002: 4th (C. Thomas)
2001: 4th (C. Thomas)
2000: Winners of Second Section (A. MacDonald) (prom)
1999: 5th
1998: 5th
1997: 3rd in First Section (rel)
1996: 8th 

Good to see Mark Hutcherson once again pick up the baton at this contest as the euphonium star of BTM is a very talented musician.

Rogerstone is a famous old Welsh banding name that has had its fair share of great and poor times here over the years, but last year under Brian Buckley there was evidence that another up turn in fortunes was close at hand. Hopefully that will be seen and heard on the weekend. 

TylorstownTylorstown (Arriva Trains)
Garry Davies

Last 12 Years:
2007: 8th (G. Davies)
2006: 2nd (G. Davies)
2005: 10th in First Section (L. Bowden) (rel)
2004: =8th (A. Morton)
2003: 3rd (L. Phillips)
2002: 8th (L. Phillips)
2001: 3rd (L. Phillips)
2000: 5th (L. Phillips)
1999: 7th
1998: 8th
1997: 5th
1996: 7th

One of the rising conducting talents in Wales, Garry Davies has been making a name for himself with the baton over the last couple of years with some excellent work with Tylorstown.

The band was runner up in the Championship Section of the Welsh League in 2007, so there is real potential, just waiting to gain the nod from the box. They could be a band to look out for.   

Past Qualifiers:

2007: Newbridge (Celynen), Beaumaris B
2006: Newbridge Celynen, Tylorstown
2005: Deiniolen, RAF St. Athan Voluntary
2004: Llanrug, Markham
2003: Llanrug, Penclawdd
2002: Penclawdd, Rhyl
2001: Royal Oakley, Ammanford Town
2000: Rogerstone, Rhyl
1999: RAF St. Athans, Pontardulais Town
1998: Pontardulais, Deiniolen
1997: Rhos, Treherbert and District
1996: Burry Port, Rhos
1995: Burry Port, Rhos  

Welsh bands at the Finals:

2007: 1st, 2nd
2006: 3rd, 12th
2005: 12th, 16th
2004: 4th, 16th
2003: 12th, 14th
2002: 10th, 17th
2001: 1st, 16th
2000: 13th, 14th
1999: 5th, 12th
1998: 5th, 10th   

4BR Prediction: 

This surely going to be a close one, but one or two here will fancy their chances of booking their place at Harrogate for sure.

Lots of rumours coming out of North Wales suggest that Point of Ayr could be the band to beat – and we agree. It may be the start of a new chapter in their contesting life, but old habits die hard and we think they could be celebrating this weekend.  

Behind them it could develop ito a real fight between Tylorstown and Rogerstone with Briton Ferry snapping at their heels. The final top six places are up for grabs but could well go to either Newtown or Lewis Merthyr. That leaves the dark horses of Llywdcoed and Llanrug.

1. Point of Ayr
2. Tylorstown
3. Rogerstone
4. Briton Ferry
5. Lewis Merthyr
6. Newtown

Dark Horses: Llywdcoed and Llanrug


2016   2015   2014   2013   2012
2011   2010   2009   2008   2007
2006   2005   2004 (1)   2004 (2)   2003
2002   2001